Go Build Your Spaceship!

***Warning! This post contains some spoilers from The Lego Movie. Read at your own discretion.***

I cannot believe I am writing a post about The Lego Movie. When it first came out, I didn’t want to see it because the trailers made it look dumb. And worse than dumb, they made it look like The Matrix done badly. I suppose going in with zero expectations helped somewhat, but I ended up really loving the movie.

My favorite scene is where Benny finally builds his spaceship. The entire film, he wants to build a masterpiece only to be told time after time that it wasn’t necessary. But when he realizes his dream and helps save the day, the joy is contagious; for he is finally doing what he was meant to do all along. I dare you to watch that scene without smiling.

I see myself in there. For me, despite the challenges of language learning, speaking a language well and doing linguistic analysis is like finally getting to build that spaceship. Last week when I presented about linguistics to my class, something came alive inside of me. I feel passionate about the work I will be doing and want others to be excited too.

I think everyone has that sort of potential, but it gets lost along the way. Too many people tell us not to build a spaceship and we become dejected, listless. What if that passion were awakened and given room for expression? What would you do? How would you live differently?

Leave a Reply

