On a walk

The cold has mainly kept me inside, but today I finally bought a coat. My newfound warmth enabled me to venture outside to the centreville just to walk around, see the bright purple window shutters or the yellow leaves on a tree. The smoky smell of roasted chestnuts is tempting. The city and the stores have–almost as if by some mutual agreement–put up their Christmas decorations and we are sliding into that time of year. I walk around and see the lights hanging over the streets and the fountain decorated with garland. The air bites at my face, but my hands are kept warm in my pockets. People are still bustling about, and there is a different sort of energy the cold brings to this city, a kind of vibrancy and sense of anticipation.

Christmas is not far away.

Leave a Reply

