Introducing the November Project

My apologies, but this post was not written for you.

As I have been trying to keep up with my blog and write posts that would appeal to an audience, I finally realized the drawback of writing for publication: I am always concerned about what the readers might think. I can’t tell you how many times I have started a post, only to revise it several times and finally scrap it in the end on the pretext of it not being “the best blog material.”

The internet has opened up the world to us, and it has allowed those who had been previously without voices to find their own means of self-expression for the world to see. This is a good thing. But sometimes with the cacophony of voices, it is hard to find one’s own. In the attempt to be fresh and original, we end up being just like everyone else.

I am tired of letting my inner critic run wild and constantly trying to morph my own writing process into a form more suited for the blogosphere, whatever that means. That is why I am going to be participating in something I have named The November Project.

November is often a time for writers to increase their writing efforts. NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month) is where people write a 50,000 word novel in thirty days. I do not have any desire to write a novel at this point (been there, done that, too long), but I would like to unleash my creativity and increase my writing efforts. That is why for the month of November, I will be writing in my blog every day. It will be raw, unedited, random…I don’t even know what the material will be yet. But I don’t want to lose sight of the wondrous miracle that is being alive. And as Anaïs Nin said, “We write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect.” This project isn’t new…other bloggers will be participating in the November write-a-thon, but under the auspices of NaBloPoMo (National Blog Posting Month). I needed a name that would not cause me to gag every time I said it, so I am calling this The November Project.

Although I have already briefly mentioned some of my rationale, I would like to lay out two main reasons for this project in list format:

  1. I am participating in this project to overcome the trepidation I feel when writing in my blog, to unleash my creativity, and to find my voice.
  2. This December, I will have had my blog online for a year. Up to this point, it has been random musings, and I would like to see if at the end of this month I can find a clearer picture of its identity.

To close, I will leave you with a quote from Virginia Woolf in A Room of One’s Own: “So long as you write what you wish to write, that is all that matters; and whether it matters for ages or only for hours, nobody can say.”

4 thoughts on “Introducing the November Project

  1. Good for you. Yes, the inner critic is powerful, but I was surprised to find that often, the blog pieces you are most reluctant to publish are the ones that get the most attention. Strange, isn’t it? Looking forward to following your November Project.

  2. “I needed a name that would not cause me to gag every time I said it, so I am calling this The November Project.” Love it. And I laughed out loud in my silent cubicle when I read this sentence.

Leave a Reply

